Life on Planet Mom

When it comes down to some things I have never been a natural. For instance before I got married I was not a cook. I had never cooked more than 10 meals in my life time.. It did not take  long for me to learn; “no one can say they do not know how to cook if they know how to read.” If you can read a recipe, you can cook and you don’t even have to have a cookbook.  It did not take long for me to do enough to make a pretty decent meal and now I’m so used to it, I could debate that I cook better than my husband.

Another thing I was not a natural at was grocery shopping, I hated it to the core. When I was a little girl I thought the only benefit to grocery shopping was that you come home with food. Then I learned how important it is to eat and fuel the body and how important the trip to the grocery store was to my health and my family’s health every week. So there was even a purpose in shopping for food and today I would beat my husband to the grocery store if I possibly could every single week. Sometimes I don’t always spend wisely, but I have gotten used to going and that’s become part of who I am.

However, this parenting thing. Motherhood! Now, that’s something to wrap my brain around. I could sit down and have a million conversations on what it means to be a mother. I could talk intelligently on how to discipline my children and how to train them and what to teach them, but when it comes down to the day to day things, I choke at it all the time. Some days I feel as if I am doing a good job, I feel like I’m not ruining them, but other days I feel so overwhelmed that I wonder how I ever got the job.  Motherhood is something I do not feel I have ever been able to simply overcome. I just simply go along with the flow everyday and hope and pray that I will have enough strength leaning and depending on a power greater than myself.

It has been fun blogging and I will be back very soon!

Me and my precious family

2 thoughts on “Life on Planet Mom

  1. I think you are doing great at Motherhood. Both kids are enjoying you very much, they seem happy.

    Now, when it comes to beating me at cooking, well, I think you are right on that one. Just for now, lol!

Leave a Reply

