What will I deny myself!

In this life I will be honest there are many things human beings are not willing to deny themselves. Mama used to say, “Your eyes are bigger than your head!” this meant that I could see/ want or desire more than I could possibly consume. More than I physically needed, I had an appetite.

They say seven of the worst sins anyone can commit are

Pride, belief in my own ability.. I, Me, My and Mine!

Envy, The desire for someone else status, traits, abilities or situation.

Gluttony, Inordinate desire to consume more than that which I require

Lust, An inordinate craving for the pleasures of my body

Anger, Manifested in the individual who spurns love and opts instead for fury

Greed, Desire for material wealth or gain.

Sloth, The avoidance of physical or spiritual work.

Now, all except the last one I think in our culture has soaked up. We are not making choices to deny ourselves, that’s why not only our government is in crisis, but more than half the homes in America.. Greed.. Pride.. Aren’t those the ugliest words you can say, yet they creep up in us all from time to time.. Who will change? who will stand out? Who will make the choice to be different!

 

Leave a Reply

