Day #5. Love is not Rude

Proverbs 27:14

“He who blesses his friend early in the morning with a loud voice, it will be reckoned a curse to him.”
I love these little dares because it takes me all of 5 minutes to sit and read and get filled with all sorts of good wisdom to carry me through another day in my marriage.

By the way I would also love to try the “Respect Dare” for women..

To be rude is to unnecessarily say or do things that are unpleasant for another person to be around.

to be rude is to act unbecoming, embarrassing or irritating. (Foul Mouth, Poor table manners, making sarcastic quips)

Do you purposely avoid things that frustrate or irritate your spouse? If you know it will cause discomfort in the relationship, do you do it anyway?

Ooooch! Sometimes I do it, and I know it will not be good.. Lord help me to change this about me.

genuine love minds it’s manners.

I value my husband enough to exercise self control around him, do you?

For instance I can walk around my house sometimes completely pouted out, but if the door bell chimes and the neighbor is stopping by I put on a big smile and make them feel very welcomed as if I had been smiling the whole while, the bible calls that hypocritical, I would totally be unavailable to my children when I am busy but if I got an important business call all of a sudden I have a moment to stop, sit and chat and will hush up my children and my husband to do so.

People are rude for 2 reasons, ignorance and selfishness. I could be in both of those categories at any given time.

If I truly wish my spouse would stop doing any thing that could bother me, well I should concentrate even more so on stopping the attitude or action that bothers him.. that’s what real love does.

Ask your spouse to tell you 3 things that irritate them or make them uncomfortable that you currently do? Then ask them what would a better way look like to them!

Leave a Reply

