Question #1. You must answer

Over the next 100 days I want to engage you with 100 serious questions to provoke your faith and make you think about how you really view things and how hopefully we will all get a better view of how they should be seen… in the right way!

Question #1.

And if you greet your brethren only, what is unusual about that? DO not the unbelievers do the same? (Matthew 5:47)

Is there a person on your job, a person in your family, a person at your child’s school or your school, is there a person you see on a regular basis even at your church that you do not speak to? A neighbor or old friend? You have decided that it would be a cold day in hell before you spoke to them again!

Jesus addresses the issue of simply greeting the people you see every day.. HE  is not just talking about believers here by the way.. Jesus is also speaking of unbelievers.. This would be a great way to say, do you only speak to people that speak to you? If you do, then how are you a cut above if you call yourself a christian, a follower of Christ, a believer?

I am beginning to take the questions Jesus asked very seriously.. Because it means even the person that hurt me..

Yesterday my ex husband celebrated his 35th birthday and in December I will be 33…. I texted him and wished him a happy birthday and we were divorced only 3 months ago.. Was it hard? Yes! Did I do it? Yes.. There are people on my job who have hurt me and I know full well they have done things that were considered unacceptable.. Do I still go to work and smile with them and speak to them every day? Yes! Is it hard? No, because I know that I serve a God who is able to make all things work for my good.. Is there not a neighbor living right next to me in the opposite apartment, who would make noise so bad on my wall I had to move my bedroom to the smallest room in the house just so I could sleep through the night.. When I see her do I speak? Yes! Is it hard? Yes In DEED! You see sometimes it’s more difficult to obey God than others but it is always worth it when we declare that it is no longer I who live but Christ living in me..

Let’s get the context… Jesus is talking about personal relationships and how they affect our relationship with Him. He had just finished teaching them to pray and in that prayer He talks about forgiving people their debts who had sinned against them and at the end of that prayer He said if we don’t forgive others from our heart we stand in possibility of judgement of hell..Selah!

Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

