Addressing Fear

Today’s Question is coming from Matthew 8:26…

“He said to them, ‘Why are you afraid, you men of little faith?’ Then he got up and rebuked the winds and the waves and it was perfectly calm.”

Isn’t that deep!

In vs 18 Jesus gives orders to depart to the other side of the sea, but before this actually happened.. let’s review the turn of events..Another Scribe comes up to Jesus and says that “I will follow you wherever you go” Mighty courageous of him wouldn’t you think.. Yet, we don’t know much more about his actions after Jesus’ response.. “If you follow me you may not have a place to sleep tonight”  I’m paraphrasing.. We don’t know if the man decided against it or not at that point and my take is that it wasn’t important to pay attention to that would be to miss the point.

Then we see ANOTHER man come up wanting to be a disciple.. But after he buried his dead.. and Jesus tell him.. “Let the dead bury the dead” in other words, if you will follow me, do it now, and don’t procrastinate saying tomorrow!Then it happens.. the event..

But I think the point is significant… it happens to the disciples who had met all the pre- req’s … they are the one’s who get on the boat.. They are tested because they fit the criteria… Yet even they have to be tested for faith.. It takes faith to say.. I’m laying aside all else to follow Jesus, and if I have to I will deny my own family if it means claiming Him.. I’m not claiming, my island, my race, my ethnicity.. I’m only claiming Christ and Him Crucified.. but wait a moment even that has to be proven is what the text is saying.. Even though these men were even willing to give up their houses.. I would guess some of them had children and wives they left to follow Jesus day in and day out, I don’t think their wives went with them to experience what they did as they walked with Jesus..
And yet, they find themselves… Here on the boat.. When a storm rises up! Uh Oh.. Are you serious?? Shouldn’t walking with Jesus mean koolaid comes out of my faucet?? Shouldn’t that mean I shouldn’t get divorced or have marital trouble or issues on my job or with my children.. Because I know Jesus shouldn’t that mean I get to live in the mansion on the hill and have all the rest I need..

Not exactly!

These men found themselves in a situation… and no one could help them but Jesus and at least they know that.. They are in a tizzy and they run to Jesus panicking trying to wake Him up quickly because they have enough faith to know He could save them, but they think He doesn’t care.. In a spirit of Fear and Timidity they go to Him.. It was not that He rebuked them for coming to Him, but they came to Him not truly trusting Him.. they came to Him in a great panic, full of timidity and fear and this He could see in them..
He marvels that they could give up so much to walk with Him and still be scared a storm would kill them.. I think this is what it meant when He stood up and all He had to do was speak to the wind.. I wondered if He had expected them to access the power in them without fear speaking to the storm themselves.. I wonder if they were really ride or die.If they had said .. Listen up, Jesus is down there resting, the winds and waves are getting bad up here.. let’s leave Him rest, He has probably not slept in days bad enough He don’t have a place to lay His head, not that we feel sorry for Him, but that we trust that we are going to the other side like He said.. Through their discouragement He wanted trust..

This is the lesson we walk away with today.. In my next trial?? in my next storm, have I prepared my most holy faith? have I got my heart and mind together and set my affections completely on Him, that even if I die in it.. what’s the worst that could happen but that I go home to rest in the bosom of the Lord.. Let’s be realistic, things happen in this life and we must ask ourselves what are we supposed to take away from this and being people of faith how are we to respond in our daily situations?

Leave a Reply

