On Obtaining Eternal Life!

Question #24

Matthew 19:16-17 “And behold one came to Jesus and said, ‘Teacher, what Good thing must I DO that I may obtain eternal life?’And Jesus said to him: ‘Why are you asking me about what is good?’

Now I want to start off with saying that only God is good, yet Jesus quietly takes on the role of Deity when He answered this question so He was in effect saying that He was God by answering.

He is talking to a Young, Rich, Ruler… Aren’t those the hardest to convert, we seem to get this stigma, since money answers all things why can’t money just be a god. I can afford to buy whatever I want, why not just buy eternal life..

Not this Rich, Young, Ruler, he was different, he knew better, he knew he couldn’t buy it.. So he simply asked…”What good thing shall I do?” I’ve gotten the memo, I already know my money can’t purchase me eternal life, and I already know it’s something I’ve gotta do.. So just spill the beans, what is it..

Does anyone remember my facebook post.. Love the Lord your God with all your passion, prayer and intelligence, and love your neighbor in the same way you love yourself.. That means you dress yourself, so dress others, you work to earn a check for yourself so work for others too..You are good about taking yourself to the doctor when you are sick and nursing your own wounds.. how about doing that for someone else.

Jesus already knows this guy is good at keeping all the commandments, and he thinks that will get him a foot in.. Hey, he’s basically saying from the time I was a child I’ve done all this.. that should get me some points, I’m morally good..
When being morally good doesn’t get you eternal life!
Jesus clearly stated in the test the answer to this question..

If you are not willing to submit yourself to the Lordship of Jesus Christ as your personal Savior you will not obtain or inherit eternal life. Yes, that means living defining and redefining your entire existence by His standards alone!

Leave a Reply

