Fear

Have you ever been afraid of anything? I don’t mean the “boogie man”, I think at some point we all thought he was under the bed, or in that closet.. I mean have you ever had something that caused you to fear? Like if you saw a snake, and suddenly it dawned on you, you know nothing about snakes, so if it’s poisonous, well, that may be the end of you! Have you ever felt fear about things that hadn’t even happened yet? You know the type.. That fear that you might not get that job you really want! Or that fear that your husband/wife might actually divorce you if you did this particular thing… Or something will go wrong on your wedding day!

Every fear stems from somewhere.. When I was younger, people made fun of me a lot.. I was picked on and I was teased and many times for fear someone would “beat me up” after school I would run home. It was my way of getting away from everyone else b/c in elementary school I didn’t really feel like I fit in.. Of course things were different when I was in high school and I was on the dance team and suddenly I had so many friends I didn’t know what to do with.. I think there was always that fear that I wouldn’t be accepted and I hated when people talked about me behind my back or even whispered while I was right there b/c the fear had stemmed from somewhere..
Now if fear can be overcome, can we just overcome it by osmosis… Somehow, if I just keep living will I suddenly overcome the fear that b/c I divorced I’m damaged goods and I may not meet anyone who will love me or make as much money as my ex-husband did.. Does it even help to say anything like that out of my mouth?
Well, the fear that is conquered, is most often the fear that is confronted!
When I was 18 years old I had a newborn child, an infant.. and I was scared out of my mind when they told me that she had a liver disease called “Biliary Atresia” she would need a liver transplant. I’d already been through that with my sister who is 7 years younger than me.. and boy was it hard to deal with.. even being the sibling of a person with this disease.. Now, I have the be the mother of one… The fear of the unknown started to overtake me and I didn’t know how to overcome it.. I didn’t even know how to address it.. Talk about fear.. Imagine your mother laying up in the hospital on a ventilator and you can’t do anything about her impending death.. Fear of not being able to live with her even another year.. can be crippling. What about if your pregnant and you hear that something “may be” wrong with your baby.. That fear is enough to paralyze some people right into an abortion.. Sometimes we abort future benefits b/c of past experiences and they are bought on by Fear alone!

When I had to deal with the fear that I would be obese after I had my last baby.. I decided it would stop there and I took the bull by the horns and I started to work out.. I hear the best thing you can do to overcome fear is to actually think the opposite and hope in what is the opposite of the thing that is causing you to fear.. There are people who have great fears of heights, sometimes the weirdest things may cause someone the greatest fear, have you ever seen them go under hypnosis, after this event their mind is changed about the issue they were fearing b/c the root of it was addressed then they go on forward and are no longer afraid..
I have just addressed with you why I feared not being accepted.. b/c of what happened on the playgrounds of a school called “Joseph Adulfus Craig” in my 5th grade year.. I am now mid 30’s and I hadn’t yet addressed the pain that caused.. Sometimes it’s good to just go on and realize the fear is there, and then understand why it came, then you can appreciate better why you have power to change it!

Leave a Reply

